Legacy giving

Support Us

Legacy giving


Musical Director David Hill MBE’s witty response to the toast of ‘The Bach Choir’ at the 2021 reception for members of the 1876 Society.

Anyone leaving a legacy to The Bach Choir in their will is automatically elected a member of The Bach Choir 1876 Society, which exists to celebrate your generosity, during your lifetime. A gift to the Choir in your will helps to secure the future of The Bach Choir, which for nearly 150 years has developed and nurtured the excellence of the great British choral tradition, showcasing it to both national and international audiences, and which, through its pioneering Vocalise! programme (see under Outreach), brings the joy of singing to school children and dementia sufferers.

There are a number of benefits of membership of The 1876 Society. One is an invitation to all members (and a guest) to an annual champagne party, where members can meet the Choir’s President, John Rutter CBE, Vice-Presidents Dame Felicity Lott and Sam Gordon Clark CBE (also President of the Society), Musical Director, David Hill MBE, and Chair Katharine Richman, all of whom are members because they are passionate about guaranteeing The Bach Choir’s future. All members are acknowledged in our concert programmes (unless they wish to remain anonymous).

For full details of all other benefits, and to register your qualification as a
member, please contact Mary-Beth Owen at devadmin@thebachchoir.org.uk


Andrew Baines
Kate Baker
Ronald Bawtree
James Biggart
Anthony Blunt
Clare Brigstocke
David Brook
Stuart Brown
Jenny Clarke
Paul Collins
Harriet Creamer
Jane Crowther
Alix de Mauny
Fern Dickson
Steve Edge
Piers Eley
Sarah Eley
Morag Ellis
Peter Floyd
Anne Francis
Dorothy Garland
Jim & Shelagh Godwin
Sam Gordon Clark CBE
Tricia Hales
Maggie Heywood
David Hill MBE
Pam Johnson
Rosemary Keen
Christopher Lemar
Dame Felicity Lott
Sue Macdiarmid
Andrew Millinger
Penny Neary
Julia Palmer
Kit Peck
Mark Pellew
Joanna Perks
Lucy & David Picton-Turbervill
Shirley Picton-Turbervill
Richard Price
Diana Rayner
Tony Reiss
Katharine Richman
Christine Rowling
Susie Ross
John Rutter CBE
Jane Scott
John Slade
Handley Stevens
Alec Swan
Lanto Millington Synge
Christopher Tabor
Juliet Telford
Jane Turner
Clive & Tessa Tulloch
Jennifer Vernor-Miles
Dell Warner
Naomi Wordsworth
Ann Wright

and a number of others who wish to remain anonymous