Panufnik – Four Choral Seasons

Concert Details ← Return To All Concerts

17th October 2019
Thu 7.30pm

Buy Tickets

Panufnik – Four Choral Seasons

Roxanna Panufnik:  Four Choral Seasons (world premiere)

Bloch:  Schelomo – Hebraic Rhapsody for cello and orchestra

Debussy:  La Mer

Delius:  Sea Drift

Supported by the Delius Trust

Royal Festival Hall, London

Orchestra - Philharmonia Orchestra

Conductor - David Hill

The Bach Choir

Cello - Raphael Wallfisch

Baritone - Duncan Rock

Concert Synopsis

Great poetry marks the seasons in a new work for choir and orchestra by Roxanna Panufnik.  This world premiere opens the Choir’s 2019/20 season.

Four Choral Seasons sets poems by Christina Rosetti, Gerard Manley Hopkins and Shakespeare.  The piece commences with Laurence Binyon’s evocative poem beginning ‘Now is the time for the burning of the leaves.’

Alongside it, cellist Raphael Wallfisch performs the final work of composer Ernest Bloch’s Jewish Cycle, Schelomo.  A majestic journey for cello and orchestra, it tells the tale of King Solomon.

The choir then performs Delius’s Sea Drift, an intensely emotional work full of rich choral harmony, based on the poignant story of two seabirds in Walt Whitman’s poem Leaves of Grass.